5 Things I Am Thankful for in 2013

It seems like just yesterday we started 2013! Do you remember where you were? I was in Gatlinburg on a youth trip. Now almost a year later I am following God’s call to plant a new church. O how a year can change things! As we say goodbye to 2013 and look forward to 2014 there are a few things I am thankful for:

First, I am thankful for Jesus! Two thousand years ago God wrapped himself in human flesh; fully God and fully man. He lived a perfect life and died a substitutionary death on the cross. Three days later he rose from the grave defeating sin, death, and the wrath of God. I am thankful that the Lord chose to be in relationship with me, a sinner! He washed me clean by the blood of the cross. Though my sanctification is far from over, he continues to work on me each day to make me more like Jesus, by His grace alone!

Second, I am thankful for Courtney, the beautiful lady that I have the privilege to call my wife. She is a blessing in so many ways, even in ways that I am unaware. As we continue through a second year of marriage I cannot help but realize how blessed I am to have her as my help-meet!

Third, I am thankful for the honor to help plant a new church in Helena. When I started this year I had no clue the journey the Lord would bring us on. It has not been an easy journey, and the road ahead does not look any easier. Yet, I am excited for what the Lord has in store for Karis Church in 2014!

Fourth, I am thankful for God’s provision along the way. As a disciple, husband, and church planter I have seen the Lord provide for us in many ways. We are blessed with many things we want and everything we need! We have a roof over our head, clothes to wear, food to eat, vehicles to drive, and many other blessings! There are many obstacles we will have to face in 2014, yet I know the Lord will provide for us each step of the way!

Lastly, I am thankful for the Lord’s protection. My three main roles of disciple, husband, and church planter cause me to have a target on my back at which the enemy can aim. This year has brought many trials, temptations, and other attacks from the enemy. Yet, the Lord has kept me from sin and compromise. The Lord has protected me and my family by His grace alone!

This is by no means an exhaustive list, but just a few things that I am thankful for this year. As we enter 2014 in a few days, I trust the Lord to grow me and my family in each of these areas. What are you thankful for in 2013?

Leave a Reply

