Reading Challenge 2015

As many people know, I’m an avid reader (by “avid” I mean addicted to reading). No really…I am a “chain reader.” Once I finish a book I almost always start another one immediately. I find this truly astonishing because when I was in High School I hated to read. I was the guy who watched the movie for most all of my school reading assignments. It was not until I started college that I began reading more, or shall I say “forced to read more.” In college you can’t fake it until you make it, at least that was my experience. My love for reading exploded when I started seminary. I found myself reading all the time. And most of those books were not for an assignment. I actually looked forward to summer and winter breaks so that I could read more of what I wanted to read.

So this year, I have decided to have some fun with my reading. My wife, Courtney, encouraged me to take a reading challenge that she found online. I have decided to take her up on it, but have adapted it a little to fit my style. This is how it will work. There are 12 categories of books that I must read for each month of the year (See below for the list). I will read a different book each month for a category on the list and will post a blog about the book once I have finished reading it by the end of each month. It does not matter what order I finish the list, as long as all 12 categories are finished by December 31. I challenge all of my fellow book nerds to take up this challenge as well. You can adapt it if you would like. The point is to have fun with and enjoy a year of reading!

Reading Challenge Cateogry List:

  1. A book you’ve been meaning to read
  2. A book published this year
  3. A book in a genre you don’t typically read
  4. A classic book
  5. A book originally written in a different language
  6. A book from your childhood
  7. A book by your favorite author
  8. A book on the NY Times Bestseller’s list
  9. A book you chose because of the cover
  10. A book on the school reading list
  11. A book recommended by a friend
  12. A book everyone has read but you

 

 

Leave a Reply

